Humanities and Social Sciences

The 14–19 diplomas apply only to England UK. Equivalent innovations are in development for  Scotland (the Curriculum for Excellence) and Wales (the Welsh Baccalaureate).

A brave new world of qualifications began in September 2009 when the first five new diplomas – in subjects ranging from media to engineering – were introduced to the UK curriculum.

An Advanced Diploma is the equivalent of Three and a half A levels; with the Higher Diploma being equivalent to seven 7 GCSE passes at grades C to A in varying subjects; and the Foundation Diploma is equivalent to five GCSE passes with grades below C.

The core footprint of the Humanities Diploma is as follows:

* Archaeology
* Citizenship
* Classics
* Classical Civilisation
* Economics
* English Language
* English Literature
* Geography
* History
* Law
* Philosophy
* Politics
* Psychology
* Religious Education
* Sociology
* World Development

A long-standing criticism of post-14 education in the UK has been that it is divided between the academic and the vocational, therefore does not include tourism for example.

The diplomas in general and specifically the humanities one have not seen the high level of pupil take-up so far which was originally predicted by ministers. Only 12,000 had begun the first five qualifications during September — a figure dramatically lower the 50,000 originally estimated.

Right in the middle of the syllabus are skills which involve muscular control and intellectual imagination in approximately equal proportions, these include playing a musical instrument, painting, constructing an engineering model, or captaining a football team for example.

The courses are run at further education centres around the UK, Wiltshire College being an example, there are centres throughout the county of Wiltshire, including Chippenham, Corsham, Devizes, Salisbury, Trowbridge and Warminster.